Langgar Merdeka, Previous Selling Place For Marijuana
Located on Jl. Dr. Radjiman No. 565 Laweyan, Solo, Langgar Merdeka is one of the iconic markers towards Laweyan Batik Village. Langgar which means small mosque stands on waqf land covering an area of 179 square meters. The construction of Langgar Merdeka began in 1942 and was completed on February 26, 1946, which was later inaugurated by Indonesia’s first Social Minister, Mulyadi Joyo Martono. The Langgar Merdeka building was previously a shophouse owned by Chinese descendants used to sell opium (marijuana). Then this building was purchased by H. Imam Mashadi who then switched functions. Seen on the outer wall of the writing of the date of the original building, namely on 7 July 1877.
In contrast to traditional langgar buildings, this langgar looks closed with walls and windows or doors on each wall. Boven-licht is a rooster. At the top, there is a tower that becomes one with the building, and the forwarding of the prayer room.
As a barrier between male and female prayer rooms with two meter high wooden dividers, in some places can be opened as a liaison. The building structure uses brick walls and wooden roof frames, as well as the upper floor and tile roof cover. Ornaments bearing Arabic words adorn the langgar building.
The name Langgar Merdeka was taken in commemoration of Indonesia’s independence, but at the time of the Second Dutch Military Aggression in 1949, its name changed to Al Ikhlas because it was forbidden to use the word Merdeka by the Dutch government that occupied Surakarta. After the second Dutch Military Aggression ended, the residents returned to using the name Langgar Merdeka in 1950. It is said that the name Merdeka was also entrusted by the first Indonesian President, Soekarno. Since 2012, Langgar Merdeka has been designated a cultural heritage building. This determination prohibits anyone from changing or physically damaging the building.