History of Taman Satwa Taru Jurug

Geographical location

Taman Satwa Taru Jurug is located on the banks of the Bengawan Solo River around ±5 km from Surakarta hall its height is ±92 m above sea level, and area 13,9 ha, width. It is 110 45’ 15” – 110 45’ 35” East longitude and 70’ 36” – 70’ 56” South latitude.


Taman Satwa Taru Jurug (TSTJ) or which is often know as Jurug Zoo, is one of the tourism destination in Solo City, it is located on the East side of the Solo Region, by the banks of the Bengawan Solo River, bordering with of Karang Anyar. Regency TSTJ is originally a relocation of Sriwedari Zoo.

Sriwedari Zoo or usually called Bon Rojo or Kebon Rojo (The Kings Garden) was built by Paku Buwono X in 1870.

After Sinuhun Paku Buwono X passed away in 1939, Sriwedari Zoo is number of animals declined poorly. In 1986 the zoo was taken over by Surakarata City Government and moved to Taman Jurug then managed by  Bina Satwa Taruna Foundation. Since then, Taman Jurug changed to be Taman Satwa Taru Jurug (TSTJ).

In 1972, TSTJ was managed by PT Bengawan Permai. TSTJ is located on Surakarta-Surabaya main riad. That’s why its quiteeasy to get there.

Taman Satwa Taru Jurug has been the icon of Solo. for its animals and plantations. There are a lot of big shady trees which would your walking moment more comfortable.

Various of animals could educate the children and students to know many kinds of animals variety. While learning the habitat of animals visitors are also entertained by this park’s facilities such as mini train, horse riding, camel riding, food centre kids playground, art perfomances, music performances and annual cultural festival called “Syawalan” .